Club News‎ > ‎2012 Archived News‎ > ‎

News Round-Up 10/12/12

posted 10 Dec 2012, 12:05 by Unknown user   [ updated 6 Jan 2013, 12:22 by Moneygall GAA ]
Lotto: Our club lotto draw returns to the Dunkerrin Arms this Tuesday night where the jackpot stands at €11,300 and the third Christmas draw will also be held.  The Week 2 Christmas draw prize winners were: Turkey – Carroll family, Cloneganna; Ham – Tim Gleeson, Moneygall; Whiskey – Marian Burriss, Emill; Red Wine – Jim Collison, Moneygall; White Wine – Tom Sheehan, Dunkerrin; Sweets – John Maher, Ballyrihy; Biscuits – John Feehan, Carrick, Roscrea.  Our final Christmas lotto will take place on Tuesday 18th in Julia’s.

Dan Breen Cup Book: Jim Fogarty’s book ‘The Dan Breen Cup – Tipperary County SH Finals 1931 – 2011’ tells the story of all the county senior hurling finals since the Dan Breen Cup was first presented in 1931, the year that six Moneygall men – Malachy Collison, Major Collison, Jack Kennedy, Tom Gleeson, Tom Byrne and Paddy Guilfoyle – won county medals.  The book also features the victorious Moneygall teams of 1975 and 1976 and is filled with match reports, photographs and statistics.  It is available to purchase at Byrne’s Shop in Dunkerrin.

10 Years Ago: Moneygall’s last championship success at minor level came in 2002 when Michael Bergin captained the team to the north and county minor B hurling titles.  Following a 2-11 to 2-6 north final win against Borris-Ileigh, we beat Clonoulty-Rossmore in the county semi final by 2-4 to 0-8 before defeating Carrick Davins in the county final in Semple Stadium on a scoreline of 2-9 to 2-6.  The team that lined out in the county final was: Rory Tierney; Ruairi Meagher, Sean Ryan, Brian Delaney; Ger Moten, Bill Whyte, Pajo Troy; Michael Bergin, Paraic Whyte; Ger Kirwan, Philip Byrne, Eoghan Ryan; Billy Hayes, Joe Treacy, Tommy Devereux.  Subs:  Padraig Doughan, Darragh Hayes, Darren Whyte, Stephen Maher, Phil Fanning, Robert Burns, John King.