Club News‎ > ‎2013 Archived News‎ > ‎

North U21B Final: Ballinahinch Gaels 1-8 M'gall/C'kenny 1-3

posted 1 Apr 2013, 11:07 by Unknown user   [ updated 16 Feb 2014, 13:05 by Willie Greene ]
Moneygall/Clonakenny were beaten by Ballinahinch Gaels by 1-8 to 1-3 in the final of the North Under 21 B football championship on Sunday morning in windswept Templederry.

Brendan Toohey, Anthony Devereux and Sean Fogarty started in defence, Brian Teehan played at midfield, and Ciaran Quinlan, Eoin Greene and Paddy Devereux lined out in the forward line.  Moneygall/Clonakenny faced the elements in the first half and trailed by 0-6 to 0-1 at half time.

Cian Murray, Patrick Egan and Liam Carroll were all introduced during the second half but Ballinahinch Gaels were able to hold their lead, and a goal with ten minutes left put them in the driving seat.  Moneygall/Clonakenny replied with a goal from a penalty with five minutes left after Eoin Greene was fouled, but were unable to narrow the gap further as time ran out.