Club News‎ > ‎

The Spike Nolan Cup

posted 22 Sep 2016, 12:48 by Moneygall GAA
In 2012 the Moneygall and Kildangan clubs jointly presented the Spike Nolan Cup to the North Tipperary Board to honour a man who made huge contributions to both clubs throughout his lifetime as a player, member, and administrator.

Spike won Munster and All Ireland U21 medals with Tipp in 1967, a North medal with Moneygall in 1975 and County medals in 1975 & 1976. He is also remembered in Moneygall as a driving force on the Club Development Committee that built the clubhouse in the 1970s. Having later moved to the Kildangan club he also threw himself into club activities there, including a term in the role of chairman from 1997 to 1999.

Spike also gave many years of service to the North Tipp and County Boards as a referee, taking charge of numerous North Finals, including the Centenary North Senior Hurling Final in 1984. He also fulfilled with distinction the role of treasurer for both North and County Boards for 23 years in total, from 1985 right up until his death in 2008.

The Spike Nolan Cup is awarded to the winners of the North Minor A Hurling Championship. Nenagh Eire Og were the first to lift the cup, beating Kildangan in the 2012 final played in Moneygall. They retained the title in 2013 to complete a 7-in-a-row of North titles. Newport Gaels became champions in 2014, before Kildangan got their name on the trophy last year.

This Saturday afternoon Moneygall/Clonakenny will contest the North Minor A Hurling Final for the first time, and fittingly the opposition are Kildangan the reigning champions. Best of luck to the panel and management team, and hopefully there will be a new name on the Spike Nolan Cup come Saturday night!